Skip to content

#cmsconnected – Message received loud and clear

January 21, 2012
tags:

As a deafened person, I am celebrating the latest format CMS Connected is using for its webinars. For those who haven’t seen one of these events yet they are run using TPN’s Webinar 3.0 solution which delivers high quality real-time video, excellent digital sound, contribution via Skype and Twitter for interaction.

As mentioned elsewhere on this site about hearing difficulties, I hate noise and crave clarity. Also, as my hearing continues to worsen, I rely more and more on lip-reading – so being able to see someone’s face and lip movements helps tremendously in giving clarity to what is being said. Beyond that, I enjoy being able to participate but unfortunately as many CMS/IT related discussions and debates are held in very noisy locations like bars, restaurants and exhibition halls I often forgo the opportunity to do this as I know from past experiences that it will be frustrating and stressful trying to follow the topic of discussion and contribute relevantly and meaningfully.

So, from the comfort of my home office, with the video displayed in a comfortable size in one window, Twitter in another, my favourite noise cancelling earbuds in place and the volume turned way up, I sat back to enjoy the latest CMS Connected offering – 2011 Year in Review with Scott Liewehr and Seth Gottlieb (AKA The Unpronounceables ;) )

Having had a go on this blog over the last couple of years at predicting and reviewing CMS developments from a practitioners perspective, it was a topic I was very interested in hearing more views on.

Obviously, you will be able to watch it with all the clarity I did but, for me, the main takeaways were …

  1. One time ‘cheap and cheerful providers’ like Ektron are moving up the ranks through re-architecting and innovation and increasingly targeting the enterprise space
  2. Just being able to publish content doesn’t cut it in the vendor space anymore, hence the emphasis on doing more with that content to meet business need (Personally I think this has been understood since the first generation of CMS vendors and the dotcom boom, but clearly more vendors have got the message now)
  3. Social is a ‘where do we publish’ problem given the proliferation in channels. It also provides ‘the body language’ for the online world. (A particularly good metaphor I thought)
  4. Despite it being said for a number of years now, organisations are being slow to prioritise and optimise content for mobile
  5. Adobe/Day was the most significant acquisition of 2011. Acquisition detracts from innovation. And SAP may well snap up a CMS vendor (possibly Coremedia) in 2012
  6. Ones to watch in 2012 are European vendors and, particularly, the open source offering and ecosystem from Drupal!

After many years of sampling the delights of CMS’s large, small and in-between I have been putting more of my eggs in one basket over the last year so I was understandably pleased to hear that leading pundits in this space think Drupal is going to make a bigger mark in 2012.

Message received loud and clear !

(please note:- In my enthusiasm for the format and topic, I am aware that I tweeted a lot during the event yesterday. Presumably some people use hashtag muting for when things get noisy from live event tweeting but for those who don’t, I apologise for filling your feed with a bit too much #cmsconnected)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2012 10:22 pm

    James,

    You’ve really become a nice addition to the show’s ‘ecosystem’ . I always appreciate your participation during the show via Twitter, and I look forward to reading your posts afterward (even though I know full well I risk reading a few shots directed my way). :-) Your points are always well made, and well-taken, and I perspective is always valuable. I was unaware of your hearing challenges, so I’m very happy this format is helpful. I’m really excited about our new partnership with The Pulse Network with the new direction for the show. We have a lot more planned in 2012, both from a content perspective as well as how we’ll continue to improve the show’s delivery. Our audience has been growing nicely, thanks in part to your helping spread the word. Thanks a bunch for that.

    Scott

  2. January 21, 2012 10:51 pm

    Glad you enjoyed the show and fomat. As the producer and creator of CMS-Connected, I get a kick out of providing (entertaining) the CMS community with valuable content in a creative platform.

    Cheers!

  3. January 22, 2012 10:17 am

    Thanks for your comment Scott.

    Yes, unfortunately members of the Hoskins family going back at least two centuries have been losing their hearing at a young age. Recent correspondence with Hoskins’s in the US suggest that we probably exported the problem to your good country way back in the 1700s.

    The great thing for my generation and, potentially, for my kids is the amazing advances in technology, particularly the content management driven web. This has helped keep me in the communications intensive workplace (besides digging roads or making raffia baskets ;) ) way beyond my father and his father before and I expect things like augmented reality subtitling of the real world, brain stem implants and genetic therapy to make things even less of a problem within my lifetime.

    So, I am very pleased to support and promote any formats that encourage and enable inclusivity but … and this is a big but … (and one for Gary to think about I hope) this new format works well for me with my current level of hearing loss and lip-reading skills and considerably better than just an audio stream – however, as more content moves from the written word to video please don’t forget that this can exclude people far deafer than me who rely very much on subtitling.

    Anybody reading this post and comment stream from the CMS/DAM world, please, please, please take good note and contribute where possible to the latest WAI developments http://www.w3.org/TR/media-accessibility-reqs/

    Many thanks

    James

  4. January 26, 2012 4:15 am

    Hey James. Here’s the video to the show. Thx for the support! http://bit.ly/zmXOAA

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 205 other followers

